Modesty and Amanda Palmer

The whole “modesty” issue just can’t seem to leave me alone. Here’s a for-instance.

Anybody who knows me knows that I’m mad about singer/performer/wife of author God Amanda Palmer. One of the things that I love about her so much is how open she is with her body. From photographs, to tweets, to her blog, Amanda doesn’t care if she has clothes on or not when she has something to tell her fans. Sometimes the point is exactly that she’s at home and in bed and comfortable.

When it comes to nudity, suggestive clothing or simply dressing as she sees fit Amanda Palmer does not believe in shame. She didn’t allow her original record label to tell her that her body wasn’t beautiful and she protested vocally when they censored photographs of her. This is the sort of thing that we need to teach our daughters and sons about. “Modesty” is not the answer, but things like this most certainly are…

Amanda Palmer says about the video “I’m so comfortable being naked at this point that I almost forget … I’m also proud that that video has nudity, but it isn’t sexual or erotic … it’s using the body as a raw canvas, which I love.”

This is the sort of feeling I want to embody and hope that I can teach to my daughters. Women have a potential to be powerful creatures in ways that men do not. The Goddess encompasses all of these ideas, and when I go into ritual, with my hair uncovered and my body skyclad, this is the sort of feminine power I want to exhibit. I can use my body for many things, most of which have nothing to do with sexuality. But that’s exactly the point; my body is mine. I shouldn’t have to be afraid of what others think. I should not have to cover it up modestly to be free and comfortable in my community. If you want to cover yourself, that’s your respected choice. But covering yourself should never have anything to do with the fear of being hurt or attacked.

2 thoughts on “Modesty and Amanda Palmer

  1. Bernadette says:

    Thank you Kenny..lots to think about!

Leave a Reply

