L.A. Art

Since we’ve been in L.A., my partner and I have been going to a lot of galleries and today we hit up LACMA. I thought I would share some of the pieces that really caught my eye today.

First up, we went to the La Luz de Jesus Gallery at Wacko. My partner and I are both huge fans of pop surrealism. While the shows they currently have up are not particularly to my taste, we explored the backroom where they have pieces from past shows and I came across this piece by Jasmine Worth. This one really hit me in the gut and was probably my favorite that I’ve seen so far. I wish I could have afforded to buy it, luckily she has an etsy shop where I can get a print!

Blood Mother

Blood Mother

There is so much witchy, goddessey awesomeness going on here!

We also saw work by Jaw Cooper.

Reaper

Reaper

tumblr_mp3nrb0EoG1ruy5opo7_1280

We also got to see a few Danni Shinya Luo’s, who is another particular favorite of mine…

one-lick-to-paradise-web

1266259440747685

At LACMA, the pieces were a little more traditional…

This nineteenth century table was stunning. What looks like glass is actually thousands of tiny pieces of glass put together in a technique called “micromosaic.” This table shows Apollo in the center with the four elements and the winds.

Table with Apollo, Rome, circa 1861-1890

Some more traditional sculpture…

John Cheere's "The Capitoline Isis" from 1767

John Cheere’s “The Capitoline Isis” from 1767

And finally, Ubaldo Gandolfi…

Selene and Endymion

Selene and Endymion

I loved how much mythology was mixed throughout most of LACMA’s European collection. These were the one’s I particularly enjoyed, but there was so much more! I can’t wait to see what we find next!

 

One thought on “L.A. Art

  1. Those first one Are some cool surreal spiritual paintings. Enjoy your visit!

Leave a Reply

